Two Poems Included in Anthology Poems To Keep

April is National Poetry Writing Month. The challenge during this month-long celebration is to write a poem a day (at least). I took on the challenge and as a result  harvested an uneven yield of poems, some in better shape than others, more flavorful, more mature, etc. Well, I sent three of these poems to the Brian Dempsey Memorial Prize, held by Dempsey & Windle, a small independent publishing house.

The response from the organizers was refreshingly fast. I sent my poems in the last week of April as the deadline was April 30. By May 3th I received a kind email from Janice, one of the organizers and judges,  letting me know that my poem Sett Patterns won joint third prize. Another poem I sent, Ice Love, was long-listed. All the winning and long-listed poems will be published in the anthology Poems to Keep, which will be launched in Dempsey & Windle’s hometown, beautiful Guildford, Surrey, UK, on July 2nd.

Receiving an award in this contest makes me particularly happy because I lived in Surrey for many years before moving to Singapore, so this is a place very close to my heart. I am so much looking forward to the publication, and very grateful to Dempsey & Windle founders, Janice and Dónall Dempsey, for this recognition to my work.

Congratulations to Alexandra Davis, 1st prize winner; Ian Clark, 2nd prize winner; and Vasiliki Albedo, joint 3rd prize winner. It is an honor to be published alongside these and all the other accomplished poets.

The details about this competition, the judges’ verdict and the list of winner, highly commended and long-listed poets is posted here.

Palace_Square_setts_(SPb,_Russia)

Source: Wikimedia Commons

One thought on “Two Poems Included in Anthology Poems To Keep

  1. Pingback: Anthology Poems to Keep launched in Guildford, Surrey, UK | On and Off the Written Path

Leave a Reply

